A Chance to Vent

You have a medical issue. You go to the doctor, describe your issue, explain your derby lifestyle, only to receive some weird blanket diagnosis that clearly doesn’t apply to an athlete. How many of us have gone through this? Probably a lot of us.

I’ve had good doctors, okay doctors, and why-the-hell-did-you-go-into-the-medical-profession doctors. The first one I celebrate, the second I deal with, and the third… well, I just don’t stand for that kind of bs anymore.

I’ve been dealing with plantar fasciitis for a full year now. While it hasn’t kept me from skating, it has created

See! We even have shiny medals to prove it.

I just want to run marathons again without breaking into tears from all the pain.

changes to my cross training. (Basically, I go till I either lose all feeling in my foot or the pain is enough to make me cry. Neither is much fun.) On the advice of my massage therapist, I decided to go back to the doctor about a new development that she thought could be a sign of something more serious. (It isn’t, thankfully.) During my appointment, I confessed that I missed really being able to run, so my general practitioner recommended I see a podiatrist. Great! Maybe I’ll get a handle on this stupid foot thing and get back to a normal training schedule.

When I saw the podiatrist, I explained to him that while I my job keeps me at a desk most of the time, I play derby and cross train a lot. His solution: wear dress shoes with a slight wedge. What? How does that help with cross training?

Fortunately, my league is sponsored by a podiatrist who actually understands athletes, so I’m making an appointment. I’m not standing for a write-off diagnosis and neither should you. So here’s you chance to vent. Share your worst medical experience and how you reacted to it.

6 thoughts on “A Chance to Vent

  1. I’m a runner too so I understand. I had PF a few years back. I wear sandals from a company called Super Feet. The sandals have deep heel and toe cups and I practice Bikram yoga. I also used a device called a Strasburg sock and I wore it while I slept. I can’t say which of the three things contributed the most to getting rid of my PF but the combination worked for me. I have been PF free for at least 4 years and no symptoms at all.

  2. The wedge might actually help a bit. My mom can’t wear flat shoes because of the deep curve in her back and the pressure on her heels. Shifting the weight forward a bit seems to make a difference. (Whereas I would be thrilled to wear flats all day long…)

    Would def still see the other podiatrist though.

    • Mostly, I’m just miffed that he didn’t seem to listen. I also had to explain to him that skates have a plate, so the soles don’t bend, when he asked me how flexible my skates are.

  3. The wedge might actually help…have you tried that before? It forces you to stand and sit differently; could relieve some of the pressure in the foot.

    • Since I’ve switched back to a desk job, the PF has actually decreased significantly. It still acts up when the whether is warm or when I’m skating with a lot of repetitive motions. Wedges are nice when I’m walking a lot, but I find I don’t need them as much.

Leave a Reply

