Are we there yet?

It feels a bit like I time-traveled. If you know me, or follow me on Facebook or Twitter, you know I moved back to Savannah. (Hurray for awesome job offer!) While I love being back in my old town with my old team, it’s definitely a change of pace.

The Savannah Derby Devils are currently in WFTDA apprenticeship soon to be fully WFTDA (fingers and toes crossed). After skating for a WFTDA team, I know where this will go, but it’s a process. Savannah is doing a great job of organizing and preparing. I just have to keep reminding myself to chill, while they do their thing.

you must chill

There have been moments at practice where I feel like I’m jumping out of my skin. It isn’t because I have some lofty opinions of my own skills, but because I can see where the team is headed, and I just want to get us there already. Luckily, I have an amazing derby wife who is more than happy to give me the calm-yourself-down look when I start getting antsy.

I returned to Savannah in time to help out with an important part of our league’s evolution. In preparation, I compiled a bag full of tricks. Some we can use now. Some will just have to wait a bit. Until that happens, I’m learning patience, which like WFTDA apprenticeship, is also a process.

Leave a Reply

