Drowning in a sea of derby responsibilities

regret

This season sees me falling back into my old habit of volunteering for EVERYTHING. Not only am I working full time, I’m also still skating for the Psych Ward Sirens, coaching Houston Junior Derby and heading up Houston Roller Derby’s media and PR committee. This last one is WAY more work than I had anticipated.

I don’t regret it, but it wasn’t long before I realized I couldn’t handle media relations for HRD by myself. Thank the derby goddess for Taz Maim Ya, Terminal Val-ocity, and Bullet Sucker. If it weren’t for them, I would currently be buried under a pile of past due newsletters, press releases, requests for interviews, and calls from Sweden. Yes, I have taken media requests for HRD from Sweden, but that’s a post for another time.

The point is I am up to my eyeballs in all kinds of work, but there are people willing to help. I just have to ask. You don’t have to feel buried under your derby responsibilities either. If it’s too much, ask for help. Unless you have a team full of douchebags, there will be people willing to help you fold t-shirts for merch or man a booth at a festival or hang banners on bout day. Also, food and booze are great motivators.

Leave a Reply

