Roller Derby Workout Challenge 2013: A New Hope

On January 20th, the new Roller Derby Workout Challenge will begin! I’m a little excited. I’ve joined the challenge for the past two years, and it’s greatly improved my conditioning for roller derby. This year, my goal is to shed the fat I gained while off skates last month and improve my leg strength. And that’s part of what makes this challenge so great: you set your own goals.

Roller derby can be a great way to lose weight, but that isn’t the primary purpose. Any woman of any size can play and be an effective member of her team. It just takes will and work. If you lose weight along the way, great! But don’t ever feel like you have to lose weight.

It’s not uncommon to hear derby girls, who have taken some time off, complain about getting smaller. By getting smaller, they mean losing muscle mass because they aren’t exercising as much. In derby, size matters, but we tend to desire more not less.

Excuse me, Slim-Fast, but derby girls consider a big butt a real asset.

Excuse me, Slim-Fast, but derby girls consider a big butt a real asset.

Recently, Slim Fast started an ad campaign targeting brides-to-be. It made me so angry to see these ads because, instead of simply encouraging a healthy lifestyle, it played on our fears that we won’t be loved if we’re a little heavy. Screw that!

With the Roller Derby Workout Challenge, participants are given a realistic food plan and encouraged to exercise more. Some women lose weight. Some women gain it. Every woman is different, and every woman is fantastic for committing.

In the next few posts, I’ll cover a few food plans and workouts I’ve discovered to compliment the RDWC. Remember, I’m not a dietician or a personal trainer. These are things I’ve discovered work for me. You may be different.

Let this post serve as a reminder to those who are about to start the challenge. Set your goals now. Do you want to lose weight? Improve endurance? Tone certain areas? Gain strength? Figure out what you want to get from the challenge and work towards it.

If you haven’t bought your copy of the Roller Derby Workout DVD, click here for more information.

4 thoughts on “Roller Derby Workout Challenge 2013: A New Hope

  1. You rock seriously hard. I saw one of those slim fast ads and it pissed me off too! WTH is the point of getting married if that partner won’t love you for better or fatter?
    I’m joining the challenge too! But I am totes gonna cheat on the 24th….birthday beers and shots! After that though, it’s all biznass. Goals include, but are not limited to; improved core strength, more knee flexibility, and muscle mass muscle mass muscle mass. Gonna have to get big so my big girl panties fit alright when we start playing WFTDA teams!!!!! WOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOO!!!!! Love you x 345890358345738490752389457290.
    A.C.E

  2. I’m really looking forward to the Challenge 🙂 My goal is to improve/increase my endurance and pass my skillz testing,…. FINALLY 🙂

Leave a Reply

