Eat it and like it: Roller Derby Workout Challenge food

It’s on! The Roller Derby Workout Challenge has started. I’m sure those of you participating have purchased your food for this week. I love the way the meals are laid out, but I wanted to add a few helpful notes based on my own research and experience. (Remember, I’m not a nutritionist. These are just some things I’ve picked up along the way.)

Last year, someone on one of the RDWC support boards mentioned that the food plan was similar to the Eat-Clean food plan. Doing a little research, I discovered that there were quite a few similarities: concentration on lean proteins, cutting out sugar, and LOTS of fruits and veggies.

After switching to Eat-Clean, my metabolism went into overdrive. I put on muscle, but also started to drop weight. I went from a size 6 to a size 4, and if I hadn’t started eating a little sugar now-and-again, I would have gone down to a size 2.

A few items that have found their way into my kitchen permanently are sprouted grain breads and Greek yogurt.

You can find sprouted grain breads in the frozen foods or organic section of most American grocery stores. If you live outside of the U.S., I’m sorry I don’t know where to look, but it couldn’t hurt to ask your grocer. One of the more common brands in Ezekiel Bread. Why sprouted grain breads?

Sprouted grains of any kind are beneficial to the diet since the sprouting process releases more nutrients. — The Eat-Clean Diet Recharged, page 74

Though the taste takes a little getting used to, I love sprouted grain breads now.

One of the meals for this week in the RDWC is chicken salad. The menu calls for mayonnaise to be used, but I’ve discovered that Greek yogurt makes a healthier substitute. Here’s a really tasty recipe I found for chicken salad using Greek yogurt. Nix the soy sauce for a low sodium version.

For my gluten-free friends, the Eat-Clean Diet lists plenty of options for you. Remember to make the switch to whole grain gluten-free products, brown rice pastas and flour, or sweet potato-based products.

Yummy and easy to cook

Yummy and easy to cook

Two other meals listed in the RDWC food plan are grilled fish and grilled salmon. Recently, I found a great recipe for grilled salmon. My husband HATES fish, but even he admitted that Balsamic Glazed Cracked-Pepper Salmon is pretty tasty. The recipe calls for the use of honey, which we’re supposed to cut out for the RDWC. You can try agave nectar or brown rice syrup as a substitute.

If this is your first time on the Roller Derby Workout Challenge, one of the tougher things to give up will be sweets. Yes, fruits are a healthier sweet treat. But dang it! Sometimes you just want some chocolate. My former teammate Hello Kidney from the Savannah Derby Devils found a recipe for Fudge Babies that hits the spot without costing you calories. I wouldn’t recommend eating a bunch of them, but keeping a couple around when candy bars start looking good can’t hurt.

If it’s something you’re interested in trying yourself, I recommend starting with The Eat-Clean Diet Recharged. There is also a diet book for men and one for families as well. Check out more information here.

//

2 thoughts on “Eat it and like it: Roller Derby Workout Challenge food

Leave a Reply

